We ALL got that boom boom!!!!!

Ok so this has been bugging me for a little while now and I am bugged enough that I want to write about it.

I am sure you have all heard Meghan Trainor’s song ‘All about that bass’. Now, whilst I love girls who are promoting self-love I just can’t get down with any kind of ’empowerment’ that is achieved by the need to be better than someone else. First let’s have a look at her lyrics:

“All About That Bass”

Because you know I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass

 

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two

But I can shake it, shake it Like I’m supposed to do

‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase

And all the right junk in all the right places

 

I see the magazine workin’ that Photoshop

We know that shit ain’t real C’mon now, make it stop

If you got beauty, beauty, just raise ’em up

‘Cause every inch of you is perfect From the bottom to the top

 

Yeah, my mama she told me don’t worry about your size

She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”

You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll

So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

 

Because you know I’m All about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass

 

Hey! I’m bringing booty back

Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that

No, I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat

But I’m here to tell ya Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top

 

Yeah my mama she told me don’t worry about your size

She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”

You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll

So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

 

Because you know I’m All about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass, no treble

I’m all about that bass ‘Bout that bass

 

…………….and it goes on to repeat itself several times.

 

Now first of all everyone has the right to express their opinion, after all that is exactly what I am doing too. I just think she has such a great framework of a song and has ever so slightly ruined it by creating a divide with women.

The main reasons for this are the following lyrics:

 

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two But I can shake it, shake it Like I’m supposed to do ‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase And all the right junk in all the right places

 

Girls, if you happen to be a healthy and happy size 2 then that is what you are supposed to shake. We are not ‘supposed’ to be anything but healthy and happy. Girls with a bit of ‘junk’ are not on another team to extra slim girls. We are all on team ‘Girl’.

All boys like different things so not all boys will chase that ‘boom boom’, besides, most ‘boys’ (men if we raise our standards slightly) will be most attracted to a woman who is confident in herself and strong minded. You should work on your body for you and only you, a guy will chase you more so for putting yourself first.

 

She then goes on to bring up such an amazing point and absolutely smashes it with the next verse:

 

I see the magazine workin’ that Photoshop We know that shit ain’t real C’mon now, make it stop If you got beauty, beauty, just raise ’em up ‘Cause every inch of you is perfect From the bottom to the top

 

Absolutely! I couldn’t agree more. What a great message. Every inch of you is perfect, so love yourself and treat yourself with nothing but love and respect. This is irrelevant of being bigger or smaller.

 

Then the bridge is simply her opinion on people who are trying to fit ‘perfect’, it’s just saying move along if you are looking for a human barbie, which is fair enough because she is simply saying that isn’t her.

 

So my last piece of song to dissect is:

 

I’m bringing booty back Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that No, I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat But I’m here to tell ya Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top

 

To nitpick ever so slightly, booty has been brought already, long ago by the likes of J-Lo and Beyonce and then of course Nicki Minaj (real or not). Booty is around and in fashion so….are you bringing it back? I am not so sure. Now, she says she is just playing after calling slim girls ‘skinny bitches’ but, come on, you are saying every inch is perfect and then again separating slim girls from curvy girls.

 

All of us are amazing. Skinny, Big, Curvy, Straight, big on top, big on bottom, small on top, small on bottom. I love that the world is starting to highlight that the perfect body comes in all shapes and sizes but that doesn’t mean we should tarnish any other shape by doing so just because it was the last in fashion. What we should aim to do is preach the importance of empowering each other for being true to ourselves and loving ourselves and each other. We do NOT reach empowerment by being better than someone else, we just stay in a vicious circle of low self-esteem.

 

So, I ask all of you beautiful Lionesses and of course Lions, look for the beauty in others and praise them for it, by doing so you will find even more beauty in yourself.

 

Meghan Trainor has released a great song with what I am sure was great intent, I just think we need to make ourselves one big massive group, or pride if you will, of perfectly, beautifully different and unique Lionesses.

 

What do you think Pride?

2 thoughts on “We ALL got that boom boom!!!!!

Leave a Reply

